Hwang In-Beom Zvezda officially joins the club

15/09/2023

Klinsmann's core midfielder Hwang In-beom has officially joined Serbian side Zvenazvezda.

Hwang traveled to Zvezda's hometown of Belgrade shortly after the team's two September A matches against Wales and Saudi Arabia, where he signed a 14-day contract and held a press conference immediately afterward. He was given the number 66 shirt.

Hwang, who joined Zvezda from Olympiacos for a club-record fee of €5 million, admitted that playing in the European Champions League was a big motivation for his move.

"The Champions League is the reason I'm here," he said. Every player wants to play in the best club competition in the world. It's great to play against a big club like Man City. I'm looking forward to the game against City. We are not afraid of anyone. We can beat all the teams in our group."

During his call-up, Hwang gathered information on Premier League players Son Heung-min (Tottenham) and Hwang Hee-chan (Wolverhampton), as well as his European Champions League group stage first-leg opponent, Man City. Zvezda was in the same group as City, Leipzig, and Young Boys. The match will be played at the Etihad Stadium on Oct. 20, Hwang's 27th birthday.

"(Son Heung-min and Hwang Hee-chan) told me that to play against City, I need to be ready to run non-stop for 90 minutes, and that's what I can do," Hwang said, adding, "We can't just defend for 90 minutes. We all have to attack. It doesn't matter if it's Citizens or Leipzig, we have to score to win. I'm ready to run like a dog and help the team." He also said that he would like to celebrate his birthday with the victory over City.

"I know that they are the biggest club in Serbia and one of the biggest clubs in Europe," Hwang said of Zvezda. They talk about (Zvezda's) 1991 Champions League win. Not many teams in Europe can boast of that. I know that Zvezda's fans are just as passionate as Olympiacos'. It doesn't matter that I'm the most expensive player. I can handle any pressure," he said.

As for playstyle, he says, "It doesn't matter where you play: attack, defense, center, flank. If I have to play defense, it's no problem. I haven't spoken to coach Bahar yet, but I have spoken to sporting director (Marco) Marin about Zvezda's system of play. He sees me as a 'number eight' (attacking midfielder). He wanted me to be the link between defense and attack, which is what I do best. It will be clearer when I talk to the coach."

Hwang continued, "Korea has a lot of good players. Son Heung-min is probably the most famous in Serbia. My best friend Kim Min-jae went to Bayern Munich. We 바카라 shouldn't forget about PSG's Lee Kang-in, who is also a great player. There are a lot of players coming to Europe from the K League now, and I hope this will become more frequent." "I want to succeed in the World Cup and Asian Cup. I'm proud that Korea is making headlines around the world. I will do my best to make Koreans happy."

Hwang In-bum, who was dubbed 'Bento's crown prince' by former national team coach Paulo Bento, said: "I grew as a player and a person with him. He always believed in me. Now that he is no longer the national team manager, I want to call him my Portuguese father."

Zvezda (formerly Red Star) are in second place in the Serbian Superliga with 15 points from five wins and one defeat in six rounds. Hwang is expected to make his debut as early as the 17th, away to Kukariki in the seventh round of the league. He could make his debut against Man City on the 20th.

© 2022 Furniture Store, 12 Pike St, New York, NY 10002
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started